Spending Diary 4th to 10th of January 2021

Hi everybody,

Welcome to the first full week of the new year!

Let’s get started.

04/01/2021

It was back to work for me today. The flatmate and I are still self-isolating as he went to get a test yesterday. We might get the results today. We are taking it very seriously and aren’t even going to leave the flat to take the rubbish out.

I was especially sleepy today at work. This is usual for me when I return to work after a break. I think it is just the January blues as well. The weather has suddenly become a lot colder and I have taken to having a blanket on my lap a lot of the time. This is another factor that makes me just want to snuggle up in my bed with a cuppa and a book.

I completed a lot of admin tasks today, including some things I didn’t particularly need to focus on just yet. It wasn’t my most productive day at work but I was happy with what I had achieved.

It was well into the evening when my flatmate got his test results back. They were thankfully negative. This was great news for us. However, a colleague and close friend of mine revealed on our work messenger chat that she had tested positive. As had another colleague. Both of these colleagues were temporarily staying with their parents, and their parents had all tested positive. I really hope they all get through it ok.

I started reading a new book at bedtime – “Eat Sweat Play: How Sport Can Change Our Lives” by Anna Kessel – and turned off the light at what was probably a far later time than it should be on a school night. Oh well.

05/01/2021

I was really struggling with tiredness today at work. It was really cold too. I definitely had a blanket on my lap at my desk.

At lunchtime, I checked the post and saw I had received a card from my Grandpa. It also contained a cheque as my Christmas present. I decided to make my Red January exercise of the day a walk into the town centre to pay it into my bank. I ate a quick bowl of cereal for lunch and set off. I was really pleased to see it was so quiet in town. I was the only customer in the bank when I first arrived. I was in and out in a couple of minutes. It was a gloriously sunny day, though still cold.

On the way into town, I had also withdrawn £20 from my personal spends bank account to pop in a card for the son of my step sister. It had been his birthday at the weekend.

After work, the flatmate and I hurriedly tried to make dinner before I had my Skype counselling session, but I ended up having to leave half the dinner in the oven. My counselling session was good – cathartic – and gave me lots to think about. My sessions cost £35.

The flatmate and I desperately needed to do a food shop, so we headed out in the cold. At the supermarket, we bought pizzas x 2, crisps, bread rolls, mushy peas, self-raising flour, hula hoops, baking powder, tortilla wraps, spice mixes x 4, orange juice, cheese slices, flora, cheddar cheese, lazy chillies, milk, stir fry vegetables, carrots, houmous and prawn crackers which all came to £28.30. I also picked up some batteries for my kitchen scales that were £4.50.

Back at home, we made use of the new Disney+ app we had which my flatmate had received a free 6-month trial of through his phone contract.

I went to bed, again much later than is ideal for a school night, but in good spirits.

06/01/2021

Unfortunately, my mental health has severely dipped this week. I went for a run at lunchtime, which did help things a little. I am still in quite a bad way though.

07/01/2021

Another day where I felt unable to do anything because of my mental health. I went for another run at lunchtime. I am doing a challenge called ‘Red January’ which is where you exercise every day of January to beat the January blues. There is the option to raise money for charity but I decided not to do that.

08/01/2021

I checked my bank account and saw that I had been charged for my subscription to Smol, which make environmentally friendly cleaning products. I would be getting my pack of dishwasher tablets in the post soon. This was £4.60.

I went for a walk at lunchtime to try and manage my mental health. It helped a little. I also went to pick up my prescription.

I feel like this week has been a write-off. Bring on the weekend.

09/01/2021

I woke up horrendously late. It may be a weekend day, but I still don’t like getting up at 12:30 PM. I went for a run before it got dark, covering 5KM. When I got home, I saw that my flatmate hadn’t been to the shops yet, so being a kind flatmate I decided to join him. It was just as well because it was a massive shop. 

In Home Bargains, we bought Pepsi max, Lucozade, 2 x Carlsberg 0% beers, Bavaria 0% beers, bleach, handwash x 4, Cadbury’s Double Decker multipacks x 2, paracetamol x 2, electrolyte tablets x 3, pilau rice, Walkers Sensations crisps, naan bread and Monster Munch crisps which came to £19.52.

In Iceland, we bought Vegetarian southern fried chicken strips, Linda McCartney pies, mango chutney, tikka masala sauce and poppadom’s which came to £8.50.

In Tesco, we bought Bread, chopped tomatoes x 4, basmati rice, cauliflower, potatoes, cucumber, parsnip, vegan pizza, pizza, onions and eggs which came to £14.12. The person behind us in the queue wasn’t obeying social distancing at all and it was really disconcerting.

And finally, we went to a local Indian food shop and bought some treats to go with our Indian meal tonight, which set us back £3.

At home, I had a video call with my younger brother and his girlfriend, and one of my older brother’s. We played a game and just chatted about things and health, all of us have our health complaints. When that finished, I went downstairs and helped my flatmate cook dinner. I’ve been trying to get back into better sleeping habits, so I went upstairs to read a bit before bed rather than watching more TV.

10/01/2021

I woke up horrendously late again. I then began to panic about time, and my lack of it, as I had a lot to do. I had a bit of a meltdown. My flatmate calmed me down and then I went for a 10-mile run. It went better than the 10-mile run I did on New Year’s Eve, though it was still a slower time for me, taking about two hours.

At home my flatmate had used up all the hot water, so we ate dinner whilst the water was heating up. Afterwards, I had a long, hot shower and then did the washing up. I quickly did some admin tasks and then watched a bit of TV. I went upstairs around 10 PM to finish reading ‘Beyond Limits’ by Lowri Morgan. If you like ultra-running then I definitely

recommend this book.

And with that, I declare that the week is over.

TOTAL SPENDING

FOOD AND HOUSEHOLD SHOPPING = £78.04 (MY HALF = £39.02)

PERSONAL SHOPPING = £24.50

COUNSELLING = £35

TOTAL SPENDING THIS WEEK = £98.52

Published by flodebtfreediary

Hello, I write about food, debt, saving money, mental health and social anxiety.

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: