JUNE 2017 EXPENSES – How did my money get spent in June?

Well another month has passed, it is time to look at how my money got spent in June, what categories, how much, etc.


Social costs in June = £81.73


Travel costs = £38.30


Gift costs = £30.07

And now the category I affectionately refer to as the I FUCKED UP category.

I fucked up costs = £20.53

(This means my ‘I FUCKED UP’ category costs are now at £17.05 over budget, so I need to earn that amount and send it to my debts in order to ‘reset’ the balance)

So it is another month done, another month I survived, another month where I didn’t use a credit card.

The Travel Costs are far too high as many of them I could have walked if I had been more organised with my time.

The gift costs would have been about right if I had spent them all on my friends and family but it included some costs which could have been avoided.

The Social costs are less then I have spent some months and I feel good that I have been able to see as many people as I have without spending that much. It has been good for my mental health.

All in all it wasn’t the worst month for spending, I need to be a bit more disciplined though.

Financial Review of Week 7

Hi everybody,

This week has seen my finances dramatically dwindle and now I have £7.32 left to last till the 25th.

I actually owe my boyfriend money as he has bought some of the extra groceries this week which have seen us currently stand at £18.27 over budget.

Here is how my money left my wallet this week.


Carrots x 4, Potatoes x 10, Leeks x 2, Spring Onions x 2 = £3.24

Milk and Bread = £1.98

Pizza, Jamaican Pastie and Cornflake bites (can you tell it was my boy shopping?) = £3.54

Apples and Bananas = £2

Milk = £1

Deodorant, Shower Gel, Sponges, Cistern Block, Toothpaste, Sink unblocker = £12

Pitta Bread and Rolls = £1.20

Breakfast Biscuits, Donuts and Bread = £3.28

TOTAL = £28.24

(I owe my boyfriend £3.87 currently)



Milk for work = £0.80


Bus to work = £1


The best pizza in the world ever, Gin and Tonic, Diet Pepsi = £20.75

Tip for excellent service = £2.50


Upcoming birthdays and Mothers Day gifts = £38.24


TOTAL SPENDS THIS WEEK (Including boyfriends shopping) = £91.53

I never realised I was spending so much money each week. I know some of it is from the food budget, and some of it was my boyfriend’s spending, but in the last few weeks I have been spending close to £100 each week.

Where is the money coming from? As I don’t have £400 a month disposable income.

And where is it going? As I am doing a spend free year and am NOT BUYING ANYTHING.

I need to look into this.

Nearly £40 came from Top Cash Back so perhaps it isn’t as bad as I think it is.

Still, I must keep an eye on this.



January 2017 Financial Review

Hi everybody,

It is the end of the first month of the year. I am 1/12 of the way through a No Spend Year and it is time to assess how I spent my money this month.

HOME £5/£2.50

WORK EXPENSE £5.90/£7.50

SOCIAL £161.07/£25 (ooops)

HEALTH £13.50/£5

GIFT £27.87/£25


So good points:

I was under budget on a couple of categories.

There were no ‘forbidden’ purchases.

Nothing was put on a credit card (not that it was going to be but still I celebrate small victories).

Some budgets will be inflated this month but will balance out in the long run.

Due to my payday being before the end of the month some of these expenses were from my December-January pay and some were covered by my most recent payday.

January will be a weird month anyway as my account balanced was increased from having Christmas present money.

Bad points

I am over budget on most categories including a very, very high balance on my Social budget.

And that is all that needs to be said.


Let’s look at my January accounts:







Which in theory is great, except I don’t know where this £107.17 profit has disappeared to.

Better than my ‘January 2017 Accounts’ spreadsheet telling me I am in debt this month, but it is confusing.

I need to reign it in this February. I don’t have Christmas money going spare, I only have what is in my account and purse. I will have to be careful.

A small good thing

(Thank you to Raymond Carver for the title)

I have had an interesting day money wise, and it is perhaps fitting I end the day watching the film The Big Short.

In my ‘old’ life waking up the day after payday would mean a few things. The compulsion to hit the shops would be so consuming I would normally leave the house without having breakfast. Sometimes I would go out for coffee and breakfast first. There would also be the panic and desperation I felt whenever I spent money. Because I would be spending my money before paying my bills, I would be spending money I didn’t have. I would put my card blindly into the cash machine and pray that some money would come out.

For about a year in 2015 whenever I made a payment by credit/debit card I would always say to the cashier ‘It’s a new card and I’m not sure if I have activated it yet.” I would say this every single time to save face if the payment was declined. The card was not new. And my payments were frequently declined. I couldn’t spend within reason.

Last night my boyfriend and I went to a gig. I had withdrawn my social budget money and my football training money from a cash machine so that I could pay attention to every penny I spent.

At the gig my boyfriend wanted to buy the bands CD, but he infrequently has cash on him as he prefers card payments.

It was such a wonderful feeling to lend him (temporarily) the money to buy the CDs. Because pretty much every other time we have gone to a gig together in the last 5 years it has been me begging him for money so I could buy a T-Shirt or a CD, or a Vinyl or anything at the Merchandise table. I felt such an enormous sense of power that I could help him enjoy the gig and have something to remember it by and have no buyers remorse myself.

I made it clear to my boyfriend I would need the money back, but it was also a lovely feeling when he got panicked that his bank transfer wouldn’t go through till Monday to reassure him that I am fine financially.

My financial status has gone from ‘critical’ to ‘critical but stable’ to now ‘stable’ (ish)

It is customary for me to spend Saturday’s food shopping and today was no different. But today is the ‘shop after payday’ so it was a chance to stock up on a month’s supply of things we had either run out of or were seriously low on.

As usual I find it comforting to take everything home and know that we aren’t going to starve or have bad breath for at least a month.

I also went to see my friend after she finished work, and maybe as a result of being closer to 30 then 20 we ended up talking about houses and the ‘nice areas’ to live in.

I am thankful everyday for where I live. I live close to the town centre and have good transport links, I am near a great selection of shops (these things are essential as neither my boyfriend or I drive). We live in a two bedroom house (rented of course) which is more than ample for our needs, although as both my boyfriend and I are hoarders we have rather filled the space.

The house is far from perfect, the area is far from perfect, but it is perfectly acceptable and more than good enough for us. At this moment in time it is all I could possibly desire.

I have a lot to be grateful for.

I do still have the desire to spend money, but it is now within reason and I do feel that I am getting more out of my life on less money.

I am nearing the end of my first month in my spend free year, and it is going better than expected.

But 1 month is easy, 11 more will be harder.

I won’t give up without a fight though.

A full assessment of my monthly income

Hi everyone,

Well as you know today was payday, wooo to the hoooo!

I have decided to show the full extent of my finances by comparing my income versus my outgoings.

So here goes:



(After student loan repayments, pension contribution, taxes and national insurance)



Paying back boyfriend for Dr Who Ticket £12.80

Credit Card A £20.97 

Credit Card L £20

Credit Card N £10.40

Bank Charges £15.04

Paying back overdraft £100

Credit Card T £30

Phone Contract £21.49

Broadband £26.17

Gas and Electricity £54

Train Season Ticket £292.30

Rent and Council Tax £198.42

Savings £20

Food/Grocery/Household Shopping £200

Water Bill Payment £19.15

Football Training £12

Football Training Transport Costs £15.60

Membership £3.92

Work Expenses, Gifts, Travel (Day to Day), Travel (Visiting), Home, Social, Health, Postage and Packaging and Clothing Maintenance = £100 (in total)


Remaining = £35

So after everything has been taken out and accounted for I am left with £35 for miscellaneous spending.

As long as I have food and shelter accounted for then I will be fine.

To be in profit after all the bills (some more fun then others) have been taken out is a great feeling.

I am happy. I don’t have room for error, I notice if as little as 1p is missing from my purse, but I have ‘surplus’ money each month. I’m prioritising my debts, things will be fine. I hope.

Financial Review of Week 3

Hi everybody, it is time again for a weekly review:

I have to quickly add some expenses that occurred last Sunday after I posted a review, and they were:



£3.10 Coffee and small cake with Boyfriend

£3 Chips with boyfriend and two other friends whilst watching a WWE British Wrestling tournament.

On to this week:


£1.95 Coffee with Coffee buddy at work (work has a coffee buddy scheme where you get paired up randomly with another member of staff each month and you meet and get to know each other)

£44.45 Weekend with Brother

£24.50 Finally paying for the ticket to see Stewart Lee in March that my Boyfriend bought ages ago.


£1.10 Milk


£1 Card for Mother’s day


£79.10 An expensive week that hopefully won’t be repeated all too often. Does include the Sunday expenses though.

On to the food budget expenses:

My boyfriend had this week off as annual leave from work, so he was in charge of picking up the groceries, which is probably why I had to increase the budget 🙂


£7.19 Milk, Orange Juice, Bread, Crisps, Chocolate Bars, Pasty and Baguette.

£0.95 Bleach

£1 Broccoli

£1.50 Listerine

£2.80 Coffee

£2.63 3 packets of cous cous, pilau rice, Fajita Mix sachet and tortilla wraps.

£0.99 Profiteroles and Milk

£4.89 Cereal Bars, Potatoes, Sweet Potatoes, Cucumber and Face Scrub.



Today was my 7th No Spend Day (NSD) of the month. I hope to reach double digits before February.

I transferred £10 surplus money into my savings account today, that leaves me with £13.50 until payday, which is the 27th.

I have one guaranteed expense before payday of my train fare to Football which is £3.90.

I will have to buy milk at some point this week for work, and my boyfriend and I may go to a Jazz club on Tuesday to see a friend’s dad play with his band.

It will be a squeeze but can be achieved.